Open letter – Joint statement of the EU industry: CO2 Regulation for Heavy-Duty Vehicles should recognise decarbonisation potential of sustainable and renewable fuels

[et_pb_section fb_built=”1″ _builder_version=”3.29.3″ fb_built=”1″ _i=”0″ _address=”0″][et_pb_row _builder_version=”3.29.3″ _i=”0″ _address=”0.0″][et_pb_column type=”4_4″ _builder_version=”3.29.3″ _i=”0″ _address=”0.0.0″][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.29.3″ hover_enabled=”0″ _i=”0″ _address=”″]

As European industry, including fuel and automotive suppliers, vehicle manufacturers, dealers, repairers and transport operators we eagerly anticipate the European Commission proposal on the revision of the CO2 Regulation for Heavy-Duty Vehicles (HDVs). Heavy-Duty transport is a vital sector for the functioning of the internal market and a suitable regulatory framework shall support the development of clean vehicles using different technologies and fuels. Decarbonisation is an immediate challenge and all options that can have a rapid impact need to be enabled.

Sustainable and renewable fuels can speed up the process and contribute to achievement of the “Fit for 55” and the full decarbonisation targets in road transport.

The signatories of this letter welcome the revision of the CO2 standards for HDVs in line with the “Fit for 55” objectives and believe that a recognition of all CO2 emission reduction pathways along the entire value chain is critical. Transport operators and vehicle manufacturers must be encouraged to consider cleaner fuel alternatives to fossil fuels, immediately available today, including liquid and gaseous renewable and synthetic fuels. Depending on use cases, technology diversity is needed where all technologies, including electrification/hybridisation, hydrogen, but also sustainable and renewable fuels can play a role.

The undersigned organisations recommend that sustainable and renewable fuels are considered for compliance in the CO2 Regulation for HDVs. Including such a provision in the Regulation would support the EU’s Green Deal objectives and accelerate the decarbonisation of the commercial transport sector.


[/et_pb_text][et_pb_image _builder_version=”3.29.3″ hover_enabled=”0″ _i=”1″ _address=”″ src=””][/et_pb_image][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.29.3″ hover_enabled=”0″ _i=”2″ _address=”″]Scientists:

1. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Uwe Adler (Erfurt, Germany)
2. Edgar Ahn, PhD (Graz, Austria)
3. Jonas Ammenberg, PhD (Linköping, Sweden)
4. Prof. Dr. José Guilherme Coelho Baêta (Belo Horizonte, Brazil)
5. Dr. R.J.M. Bastiaans (Eindhoven, Netherlands)
6. Dr.-Ing. Bernhard Bäuerle (Stuttgart, Germany)
7. Prof. Dr. Pål Börjesson (Lund, Sweden)
8. Prof. Dr.techn. Christian Beidl (Darmstadt, Germany)
9. Dr.-Ing. Benjamin Böhm (Darmstadt, Germany)
10. Dr. Aleš Bulc (Leipzig, Germany)
11. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Butsch (Constance, Germany)
12. Prof. Ulrich Bruhnke (Lustenau, Austria)
13. Prof. Dr. Matthias Brunner (Saarbrücken, Germany)
14. Prof. David Chiaramonti (Torino, Italy)
15. Dr. Klaus Dieterich (Stuttgart, Germany)
16. Prof. Dr. Friedrich Dinkelacker (Hannover, Germany)
17. Prof. Dr. habil. Andreas Dreizler (Darmstadt, Germany)
18. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Eberhard R. Drechsel (Munich, Germany)
19. Prof. Dr. Alexander Eisenkopf (Friedrichshafen, Germany)
20. Prof. Mats Eklund (Linköping, Sweden)
21. Prof. Alessio Frassoldati (Milano, Italy)
22. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Gänsicke (Wolfsburg, Germany)
23. Dr.-Ing. Claus-Eric Gärtner (Munich, Germany)
24. Prof. Dr. techn. Dipl.-Ing. Bernhard Geringer (Vienna, Austria)
25. Bernhard Gerster (Basel, Switzerland)
26. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Jörn Getzlaff (Zwickau, Germany)
27. Prof. Dr. Hartmut Gnuschke (Coburg, Germany)
28. Dr. Armin Günther (Frankfurt am Main, Germany)
29. Marcus Gustafsson (Linköping, Sweden)
30. Prof. Ernst-M. Hackbarth (Munich, Germany)
31. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl-Ludwig Haken (Esslingen, Germany)
32. Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Kay-Rüdiger Harms (Wolfsburg, Germany)
33. Prof. Dr. Stefan Hausberger (Graz, Austria)
34. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Heidrich (Kaiserslautern, Germany)
35. Dr. Paul Hellier (London, United Kingdom)
36. Dr. Jose Martin Herreros (Birmingham, United Kingdom)
37. Prof. Dr. Dr. Gerhard Hettich (Stuttgart, Germany)
38. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl Alexander Heufer (Aachen, Germany)
39. Dr. Axel Ingendoh (Odenthal, Germany)
40. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Rolf Isermann (Darmstadt, Germany)
41. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Markus Jakob (Coburg, Germany)
42. Jean-Marc Jossart (Brussels, Belgium)
43. Prof. Sanghoon Kook (Sydney, Australia)
44. Prof. Dr.-Ing. André Casal Kulzer (Stuttgart, Germany)
45. Prof. Dr. Thomas Lauer (Vienna, Austria)
46. Dr. Felix Leach (Oxford, United Kingdom)
47. Prof. Francisco Lemos (Lisbon, Portugal)
48. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Atzler (Dresden, Germany)
49. Dr. Klaus Lucka (Aachen, Germany)
50. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Lichte (Wolfsburg, Germany)
51. Prof. Ing. Jan Macek, DrSc., FEng (Prague, Czech Republic)
52. Philippe Marchand (Paris, France)
53. Prof. Dr. Ralph Mayer (Chemnitz, Germany)
54. Gustav Melin (Stockholm, Sweden)
55. Paul Miles (California, USA)
56. Prof. Yasuo Moriyoshi (Chiba, Japan)
57. Dr. Martin Müller (Hamburg, Germany)
58. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Munack (Braunschweig, Germany)
59. Prof. J.A. Jeroen van Oijen (Eindhoven, Netherlands)
60. Prof. Dr. Ralf Peters (Aachen, Germany)
61. Prof. Dr. Peter E. Pfeffer (Munich, Germany)
62. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinz Pitsch (Aachen, Germany)
63. Prof. Jacobo Porteiro (Vigo, Spain)
64. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ralph Pütz (Landshut, Germany)
65. Prof. Dr. Dr. Dr. h.c. F. J. Radermacher (Ulm, Germany)
66. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Rauch (Karlsruhe, Germany)
67. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hermann Rottengruber (Magdeburg, Germany)
68. Prof. Christine Rouselle (Orleans, France)
69. Alarik Sandrup (Stockholm, Sweden)
70. Dr. habil. Martin Schiemann (Bochum, Germany)
71. Prof. a.D. Dipl.- Ing. Peter Schmid (Esslingen, Germany)
72. Carl-Wilhelm Schultz-Naumann (Munich, Germany)
73. Dr. Irene Schwier (Hamburg, Germany)
74. Prof. Dr.–Ing. Helmut Seifert (Ludwigshafen, Germany)
75. Dr. Kelly Senecal (Wisconsin, USA)
76. Prof. Seong-Young Lee, PhD (Michigan, USA)
77. Prof. Dr. Anika Sievers (Hamburg, Germany)
78. Dipl.-Chem. Anja Singer (Coburg, Germany)
79. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Werner Sitzmann (Hamburg, Germany)
80. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rainer Stank (Hamburg, Germany)
81. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Sterner (Regensburg, Germany)
82. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rüdiger C. Tiemann (Saarbrücken, Germany)
83. Prof. Athanasios Tsolakis (Birmingham, United Kingdom)
84. Prof. Sebastian Verhelst (Ghent, Belgium)
85. Dr.-Ing. Jörn Viell (Aachen, Germany)
86. Oldřich Vítek (Prague, Czech Republic)
87. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Watter (Flensburg, Germany)
88. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Willner (Hamburg, Germany)
89. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Wittek (Heilbronn, Germany)
90. Dr. Yuri Martin Wright (Zurich, Switzerland)
91. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kai Wundram (Braunschweig, Germany)
92. Prof. Hua Zhao (London, United Kingdom)
93. Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Lars Zigan (Munich, Germany)[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][/et_pb_section]

Other News